Annual Conference 2018

The EuroXanth COST Action will hold its 2nd Annual Conference on “Integrating science on Xanthomonadaceae for integrated plant disease management in Europe” in Halle (Saale), Germany, from 18 to 21 July 2018. This conference, which is a joint event with the 6th Xanthomonas Genomics Conference, will welcome 130 participants and will serve as a platform to share technical know-how and to exchange latest research results on members of the Xanthomonadaceae family. The conference will cover different species of Xanthomonas, but also Xylella fastidiosa.

The conference will have the following sessions:
Session I: Genomics and molecular diagnostics
Session II: Ecology and epidemiology
Session III: Pathogenicity mechanisms and regulation
Session IV: Type III secretion and effector proteins
Session V: Other secretion systems
Session VI: Plant defence and resistance

The conference will be organized by Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas (Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, Germany) and will be held at the Leopoldina in Halle (Saale). On-site registration will open on July 18 at 2 p.m. The conference will start at 5 p.m. and finish on July 21 at noontime.

Scientific Committee of the conference:

Name Country Link to COST Action
BONAS, Ulla DE  
BÜTTNER, Daniela DE MC Member (WG2)
BOCH, Jens DE MC Member (WG3)
KOEBNIK, Ralf FR Chair (WG2)
KÖLLIKER, Roland CH MC Member (WG3)
LEACH, Jan E. US MC Observer
STUDHOLME, David GB MC Member (WG1)
WANG, Nian US  

Confirmed keynote speakers:

Name Affiliation Country
Chuck FARAH University of São Paulo Brazil
Marie-Agnès JACQUES Institut de Recherche en Horticulture et Semences, Beaucouzé France
Jan E. LEACH Colorado State University, Fort Collins USA
Steven E. LINDOW University of California, Berkeley USA
Laurent D. NOËL Laboratory of Plant-Microbe Interactions, Auzeville-Tolosan France
Guido SESSA Tel Aviv University Israel
Ramesh SONTI Centre for Cellular & Molecular Biology, Hyderabad India
Leena TRIPATHI International Institute of Tropical Agriculture, Nairobi Kenya
Renier VAN DER HOORN University of Oxford United Kingdom
Bing YANG Iowa State University, Ames USA

The call for abstracts has been closed. If you wish to attend this conference, please complete the online application form and submit an abstract of your contribution (see HERE for instructions for abstracts). Candidate participants from companies should upload a short letter outlining their interest in the conference.

The deadline for applications was March 18, 2018. All applications will go through selection by the Scientific Committee; successful applicants will be informed one month after the deadline. Since the number of participants is limited, we emphasize that the online form is only an application for registration. Completing the form does NOT mean that you are accepted in the conference. Please do not make any travel bookings until you have received confirmation that your application to attend the conference has been approved.

The conference will ask for a registration fee of 220 EUR for regular participants. Participants with reimbursement from COST will need to pay the reduced registration fee of 100 EUR, which will be indirectly reimbursed via lush flatrates for accommodation and meals. Participants from the private sector who are not supported by COST need to pay a increased registration fee of 350 EUR. Registration fees will cover a welcome reception, two lunches, one dinner, refreshments and snacks during breaks, participation in the social program, access to the conference room and a conference package (incl. a personal copy of the abstract book and name tags). Accepted participants are asked to pay the registration fee to the organiser’s account via bank transfer within four weeks after notification of acceptance. Failure to transfer the fee in time may lead to cancelation of acceptance to participate in the conference.

Only applicants from partnering COST countries can apply for reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs by the EuroXanth COST Action. Among them, only participants who will give an oral presentation or who will present a poster will be eligible for reimbursement. If successful, travel and subsistence costs will be reimbursed in line with the COST Travel Reimbursement Rules and according to the limits defined by the Management Committee. We specifically ask Early Career Investigators[1] and colleagues from Inclusiveness Target Countries[2] to apply for participation and reimbursement.

With kind regards,

Ralf Koebnik, Chair of the COST Action
Ulla Bonas, Chair of Local Organising Committee
Audrey Canado-Janjon, Grant Holder Administrator


The conference will be held at the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina in Halle (Saale) (see HERE for access or SAVE the map). Founded in 1652, the Leopoldina is the oldest scientific academy in the world. It is dedicated to the advancement of science for the benefit of mankind and to shape a better future. With 1,000 active members, the Leopoldina brings together outstanding scientists from Germany, Austria, Switzerland and many other countries.

Halle (Saale) is located in the southern part of the German state Saxony-Anhalt, approximately 150 km south-west of Berlin and 30 km north-west of Leipzig.

Social Program

The conference will give room to participate at one of three parallel social activities, among which the conferee needs to choose when applying:

  1. Historic Town Centre Stroll
  2. Visit of Moritzburg (fortified castle/art museum)
  3. State Museum of Prehistory (Nebra Sky Disc)

Since places are limited, a “first applied – first accepted” procedure will apply.

How to get to Halle (Saale)

Halle (Saale) can be reached by train from Berlin Airport or from Leipzig/Halle Airport. To travel to Halle (Saale), please consider a 2-hours journey from Berlin Railway Station or a 30-min journey from Leipzig Railway Station. For reservations, information on train timetables and ticket prices, please visit the Deutsche Bahn website.

[1] An individual who obtained the PhD/doctorate (full-time equivalent) less than 8 years ago.

[2] Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Croatia, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Slovakia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Republic of Serbia, and Turkey.