Saturday, May 18, 2024
COST Action CA16107 EuroXanth

STSM call 6

Sixth call for Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM) of the COST Action EuroXanth


We received eight applications, five of which were approved by the STSM Committee. We are happy to announce that four STSM Grants were given to:
Name Affiliation Title Host Report
Luis Felipe Arias-Giraldo Institute for Sustainable Agriculture, CSIC, Córdoba, Spain Use of Oxford Nanopore and Illumina sequencing technologies and a hybrid assembly approach to determine the complete genome of spanish strains of Xylella fastidiosa Auburn University, USA not yet available
Carmine Del Grosso University of Molise, Campobasso, Italy Molecular tools for investigating plant-xanthomonads interactions and ecological analyses of plant microbiome Institute of Research in Horticulture and Seeds, Beaucouzè, France not yet available
Katarina Gasic Institute for Plant Protection and Environment, Belgrade, Serbia Complete genome sequence analysis of lytic bacteriophages infecting Xanthomonas arboricola pv. juglandis Nanophagetherapy Center, Enviroinvest Corporation, Pécs, Hungary Download
Sara Godena Institute of Agriculture and Tourism, Porec, Croatia Xylella fastidiosa: detection techniques and evaluation of different potential control measures University of Bari and CNR-IPSP, Italy not yet available
Eliška Penázová Faculty of Horticulture, Lednice, Czech Republic Xanthomonas campestris pv. campestris genomics and comparative genomics Zurich University of Applied Sciences, Wädenswil, Switzerland Download


Dear colleagues,
We are delighted to announce the opening of the 6th call for Short Term Scientific Missions (STSM) of the COST Action EuroXanth: Integrating science on Xanthomonadaceae for integrated plant disease management in Europe. We are now receiving applications for STSM due to take place between November 1, 2019, and March 15, 2020.
The deadline for application was 30th September 2019.
Generally, STSM are:
  • exchange visits between researchers involved in a COST Action, allowing scientists to visit an institution or laboratory in another COST country;
  • aimed at fostering collaboration, sharing new techniques and infrastructure that may not be available in other participants’ institutions or laboratories;
  • minimum of 5 calendar days.
The financial contribution for such a STSM will be a fixed grant based on the applicant’s budget request and the evaluation of the application by the STSM assessment committee (max. 3500 € covering travel and subsistence with max. 160 € per day for accommodation and meal expenses).
To apply, please register at e-COST (if you did not so before in the frame of another activity) and send the following documents to the STSM Coordinator (Dr Monika Kałużna, and to the Chair (Dr Ralf Koebnik,
  • written agreement of the host institution,
  • letter of support from the home institution (written agreement from the supervisor or group leader),
  • supporting documents (CV of max. 2 pages, scientific work plan of max. 3 pages, list of publications, covering letter, cost estimate for travel and subsistence).
Please consult the COST Vademecum for more details on eligibility for application and the reimbursement rules. Please be aware that you need to provide all travel documents and a written report within 4 weeks after return from the STSM in order to get reimbursed. 
Following a decision of the Management Committee, taken on July 18, 2018, we herewith announce that the name and affiliation of all grantees, the titles of the STSM projects and the host institutes will be published on our EuroXanth website. All other information will be kept confidential.
Specific provisions have been introduced to enable researchers from ITC participating in the respective COST Action to receive 50% of their STSM Grant when they complete the first day of their STSM. The remaining 50% of the Grant is payable once the administrative requirements have been satisfied.
If you have any questions, don’t hesitate to contact us.
With kind regards,
Monika Kałużna (STSM Coordinator)
Ralf Koebnik (Chair)